Wednesday 20 August 2014

Little Gnome Astronomical Fact #9

August 20th 1964 INTELSAT Formed.

The USA, Australia, Canada, the UK, Denmark, France, Italy, Japan, Netherlands, Spain, and the Vatican City sign the International Communication Satellite System agreement. Between 1964 and 2001 INTELSAT was an intergovernmental consortium owning and managing a series of communication satellites providing international broadcast services. The system was privatised in 2001. 

Earlybird being prepared

Its first satellite INTELSAT 1 which was called Early Bird was launched on April 6th 1965; it was placed in geostationary orbit above the Atlantic Ocea

No comments:

Post a Comment